Firearms Licensing Information
The Montague Police Department is responsible for issuing and renewing firearms permits (FID & LTC) and dealer permits to the residents and business owners in the Town of Montague.
In order to make the firearm permit process simple and efficient we recommend you pick up a permit application from the police department or print up the application provided on this web site (under downloadable forms) and fill it out completely, checking off the type of permit you are requesting. Once your application is complete, bring the completed application along with a check or money order made out to the Town of Montague, for the proper permit fee, to the police department. The Police Dispatcher will take your application and turn it over to Staff Sgt. Chris Williams, the firearms permit Sergeant, whom will then contact you to set up an appointment.
** Appointments will only be scheduled at the police department after you have turned in a completed application and a check or money order made out to the Town of Montague. You will be asked by the dispatcher to provide a copy of your current firearms permit and drivers license, so please have these with you when you turn your application in. We can make a copy of these items for you at no charge. NO CASH WILL BE ACCEPTED.
If this is your first time applying for a firearms permit you need to take a gun safety course. A basic hunter education course OR state certified firearms safety course is required for a Firearms Identification Card (FID) and a state certified firearms safety course is required to obtain a License to Carry (LTC). Most gun clubs have instructors that could assist you with these courses. Current members of the U.S. Military or Massachusetts National Guard are exempt from the firearms Safety Course requirement. Proof of membership is required.
The fees for the permits are as follows:
- Class A permits are $100.00 and are valid for up to 6 years. Class B permits no longer exist.
- Firearms Identification Cards (FID) are $100.00 and are valid for up to 6 years.
- Firearms Identification Cards - Restricted (mace and pepper spray) are $25.00 and are valid for up to 6 years. These are only available to persons age 14 to 17. 18 and over must apply for an FID card.
For dealer permits you must schedule an appointment with Staff Sgt. Chris Williams. Any questions regarding dealer permits must also be directed to Staff Sgt. Chris Williams at extension 205.
For more information on the Massachusetts gun laws or to find out which type of permit is best for your needs please visit the Massachusetts Division of Fisheries and Wildlife website under Mass.Gov (www.mass.gov)